~Almarene Bucek~

YOAKUM: Almarene Wauson Bucek passed away on January 1, 2018, at age 87.

Almarene was born January 8, 1930 in Yoakum, TX to Clarence and Elvira Moore Wauson.  She graduated from St. Joseph High School in Yoakum in 1947.  She met and married George Bucek, Jr. in 1950 and they lived in Houston, TX where she worked as executive assistant to Judge Washburn at the Harris County Auditor’s Office.  George and Almarene returned to Yoakum in 1955 and raised their family.

Mrs. Bucek actively volunteered her time as a Camp Fire Girls group leader, served on St. Joseph’s School Board, was a life-member of Catholic Daughters, worked in the Band Boosters Association, and served as Secretary of the A&M Mothers’ Clubs of Texas, etc.

As a child of the Great Depression, Almarene often said she lived a life beyond her childhood dreams as she travelled the world with her husband George in their semi-retirement years.  And surely she never dreamed she would end up being an avid deer hunter and better fisherman than George.

Almarene is survived by her devoted husband of 67 years, son Shannon (Cheryl), Yoakum, daughters Maureen, Yoakum, and Kathy (Mike) Manning, Victoria TX; Grandchildren Amy Bucek, Nathan (Mandy) Bucek, Jenna (Andy) Einem, and Scott Manning; Great Grandchildren Brenna Bucek, Nash Bucek, and Luke Einem, and her numerous other family and friends.

Almarene was preceded in death by her parents and six siblings: Howard, Gladys, Fred, Lucretia, Audrey Mae, and Gilbert.

The family wishes to extend special thanks to her Eucharistic Minister, Carolyn Janak, and the invaluable angels providing years of care to Almarene: her beloved niece, Judy Wauson Moore, and Barbara Garrett and Grace Lampley.

Visitation 9:00 –10:00 a.m. on Thursday, January 4, 2018 at St. Joseph’s Catholic Church in Yoakum followed by a Rosary at 10:00 a.m. and Funeral Mass at 10:30 a.m. with Rev. Matthew H. Huehlefeld officiating.  Pallbearers are Nathan Bucek, Scott Manning, Andy Einem, Alvin Berkovsky, Scott Kuester, and Clay Hermann.  Honorary pallbearers are David H. Watson, David Coldeway, A. G. Hermann III, Carroll Carter, and J. C. Hermes.

Memorial contributions may be given to St. Joseph’s School, Yoakum, TX.

Sign Our Register